Photo de Steve Weinman

Steve Weinman

Entreprise

Divernet

Suivez-moi sur les réseaux

À Propos

Steve Weinman est rédacteur en chef de Divernet.com, responsable de la rédaction ainsi que de l’approvisionnement et de l’édition de son contenu. Il était auparavant rédacteur en chef du magazine mensuel Diver, qui, jusqu'à sa fermeture en 2021, était le titre imprimé le plus ancien sur la plongée sous-marine au Royaume-Uni. Le site Web Divernet était basé sur le contenu du magazine depuis son lancement en 1996 – l’année où il a rejoint le magazine.

Steve est plongeur depuis 1992, initialement en tant que membre du club BBC Ariel. Né dans le centre de Londres, il a fait ses études à la Latymer Upper School et a obtenu un baccalauréat 2:1 en histoire à l'Université de Reading.

Il travaille comme journaliste depuis 1975, d'abord pendant trois ans pour le magazine Prévention d'incendies avec la Fire Protection Association, puis avec IPC (plus tard Reed) sur l'hebdomadaire Transports motorisés comme sous-rédacteur en mise en page, sous-rédacteur en chef et rédacteur en chef pendant 10 ans.
Durant cette période, il fut également rédacteur en chef du journal pionnier mais éphémère Quel fourgon ?, et contributeur indépendant régulier et testeur de véhicules pour Gestion de flotte automobile et Voiture de société.

En 1986, il rejoint BBC World Service en tant que rédacteur en chef de son magazine mensuel d'auditeurs de longue date. London Calling. Après sept ans, alors que la télévision rejoignait la radio dans la production internationale de la BBC, il a lancé le magazine BBC dans le monde à sa place.

Pendant de nombreuses années, Steve a également travaillé régulièrement en tant que rédacteur de relations publiques indépendant pour un certain nombre de grands constructeurs automobiles (dont Toyota, VW, Ford, Chrysler, Rolls-Royce, Bentley et BMW) par l'intermédiaire de l'agence Immediate Network. Il a également été associé dans deux sociétés d'édition sous contrat produisant des titres internes pour des sociétés telles que Logica.

Travailler pour IPC comprenait un programme de formation interne en journalisme et à la BBC, il a suivi une formation complète en gestion et en commerce. London Calling a été l'un des premiers titres à être produits numériquement dans les années 1980, et il a appris à utiliser Quark Xpress sur Mac pour produire les mises en page.

En quittant la BBC, Steve a travaillé comme sous-rédacteur en chef de l'hebdomadaire New Statesman pendant une période de relance avant de devenir rédacteur en chef puis rédacteur du mensuel Diver pendant 25 ans. Il a commencé là-bas avec une équipe nombreuse, mais au cours des dernières années, à mesure que le marché s'éloignait de l'imprimé, il s'est retrouvé à s'occuper de plus en plus du côté conception ainsi que de l'édition et d'une grande partie de la rédaction.

En termes de philosophie, Steve a toujours souligné l'importance de l'exactitude, de l'intégrité et de l'équilibre éditorial. Dès son plus jeune âge, il a apprécié l'écriture de longs métrages et les interviews, ainsi que la découverte et la mise en forme du travail d'écrivains talentueux, en particulier les nouveaux. Plus tard, il s’est de plus en plus engagé dans le processus de collecte d’informations.

Steve a apprécié le défi d'apprendre les subtilités de la présentation en ligne depuis qu'il a rejoint Divernet. Il travaille à temps partiel mais vise à fournir un flux d'informations fraîches et de contenu aux lecteurs de Divernet chaque jour de l'année, garantissant ainsi que le site est une source de référence et d'enregistrement fiable et divertissante.

Il surveille en permanence les messages entrants et s'efforce de traiter les affaires en suspens le plus rapidement possible. Mais il a du temps libre pour des passe-temps tels que la plongée sous-marine, la lecture, la marche, les voyages et le soutien à l'Arsenal FC.

Articles

Publicité
Le souffle le plus profond (Netflix)
apnéiste

Apnée : Netflix Emmy + Flamme olympique

Dans deux développements rapprochant un peu plus l'apnée du monde des sports grand public, un documentaire Netflix sur un recordman du monde a remporté un Emmy.

Publicité
Artiste sous-marin André Laban (Laurent Cadeau / Maecene Arts)
Fonctionnalités:

Père de l'art sous-marin : André Laban

Le pionnier français de la plongée s'est fait un nom en travaillant avec Jacques Cousteau mais a suivi son propre chemin avec l'une des nombreuses cordes à son arc :

Publicité

fbpx
Steve Weinman

Steve Weinman

Company

Divernet

Follow me

About

Steve Weinman is editor of Divernet.com, responsible for writing as well as procuring and editing its content. He was formerly editor of the Diver monthly magazine, which until its closure in 2021 was the longest-running UK scuba-diving print title. The Divernet website was based on the magazine’s content from the time it was launched in 1996 – the year he joined the magazine.

Steve has been a scuba diver since 1992, initially as a member of the BBC Ariel club. Born in central London, he was educated at Latymer Upper School and gained a 2:1 BA degree in history at Reading University.

He has worked as a journalist constantly since 1975, initially for three years on the  magazine Fire Prevention with the Fire Protection Association, then with IPC (later Reed) on the weekly newspaper Motor Transport as layout sub-editor, chief sub-editor and production editor for 10 years.
During this time he was also editor of the pioneering but short-lived Which Van?, and a regular freelance contributor and vehicle tester for Car Fleet Management and Company Car.

In 1986 he joined BBC World Service as editor of its long-established monthly listener magazine London Calling. After seven years, with TV joining radio in the BBC’s international output, he launched the magazine BBC Worldwide in its place.

For many years Steve also worked regularly as a freelance PR writer for a number of major car manufacturers (including Toyota, VW, Ford, Chrysler, Rolls-Royce, Bentley and BMW) through the agency Immediate Network. He was also a partner in two contract publishing companies producing in-house titles for companies such as Logica.

Working for IPC included an in-house journalism training programme and at the BBC he underwent comprehensive management and business training. London Calling was one of the early titles to be produced digitally in the 1980s, and he learnt to use Quark Xpress on Mac to produce the layouts.

On leaving the BBC Steve worked as chief sub editor of the weekly New Statesman during a relaunch period before becoming managing editor and subsequently editor of the monthly Diver magazine for 25 years. He started there with a large staff, though in its later years as the market shifted away from print he found himself increasingly handling the design side as well as the editing and much of the writing.

In terms of philosophy Steve has always emphasised the importance of editorial accuracy, integrity and balance. From early on he enjoyed feature-writing and interviewing, and the finding and shaping of work by talented writers, especially new ones. Later he became increasingly engaged in the news-gathering process.

Steve has relished the challenge of learning the intricacies of online presentation since moving to Divernet. He works part-time but aims to provide a flow of fresh news and feature content for Divernet readers every day of the year, ensuring that the site is a reliable and entertaining source of reference and record.

He monitors incoming messages constantly and aims to deal with outstanding business as rapidly as possible. But he does have spare time for hobbies that include scuba-diving, reading, walking, travelling and supporting Arsenal FC.

Articles

Isles of Scilly Sunken Treasure sale (Gildings Auctioneers)
Scuba News

Double the money for Scilly shipwreck coins

A collection of rare coins recovered from famous Isles Of Scilly and other shipwrecks went under the hammer yesterday (31 January) and sold for more

Best Picture of the Year & Macro winner was Claudio Ceresi, Italy (World ShootOut 2022)
Underwater Photography

Divers hit form at World ShootOut

The winners of the annual World ShootOut online underwater photography and videography competition 2022 have been announced.  The Israel-based event, now in its 17th year,

Great white shark (Elias Levy)
Scuba News

White shark kills diver with one bite 

A Mexican shellfish diver who had defied warnings of danger lost his life on the morning of 5 January when a large great white shark

Seagrass supports marine animals like this hermit crab (Paul Naylor)
Scuba News

Seagrass project gets going in Cornwall

Cornwall Wildlife Trust (CWT) has completed its first round of seagrass-planting trials in the River Fal. The “Seeding Change Together” project, funded to the tune

(Diver with camera (RawPixel)
Scuba News

Divers: help to make Blue Planet III

The two Blue Planet marine wildlife TV series were not only blockbuster successes but are recognised as having had a major effect on public attitudes

Cage-diving at Guadlupe (David Serradell)
Scuba News

‘Time to fight like hell for white sharks’

The effective abandoning of Mexico’s Guadalupe Island to all activities other than commercial and illegal fishing will lead not to the protection of great white

The moment the missing freediver is spotted from his family's boat
Scuba News

Buoyed freediver survives boat separation

A Florida Keys spearfisher underwent a dramatic experience when his freedive to around 10m was transformed by a sudden downcurrent into a rapid descent into

Best In Show & Macro winner (Kat Zhou / Ocean Art)
Underwater Photography

Octopus Mother delivers in Ocean Art contest

This photograph of a Caribbean reef octopus guarding her eggs off West Palm Beach, Florida has been announced as Best in Show in the prestigious

Enable Notifications OK No thanks
Which Notifications would you like to receive?